## **Puerto Rican Day Parade Announces 2023 Honorees**

The Board of Directors of the National Puerto Rican Day Parade (NPRDP) recently announced its honorees for the 66th edition of this Boricua tradition that takes place in New York City.

During a press conference held at the Institute of Puerto Rican Culture headquarters, organizers also informed this year's theme is Música, Cultura y Alegría (Music, Culture and Joy). The iconic procession will march 35 blocks up New York City's Fifth Avenue on Sunday, June 11, beginning at 11am (ET).

"The NPRDP Board selected this theme because these words embody the essence of the 2023 celebration, and they encapsulate the tributes and honorees we will recognize during the Parade and related events," said Louis Maldonado Pérez, NPRDP Board member and former Board Chair.

Honorees Recognized for Lifetime Achievement

Chucho Avellanet – Singer, comedian, actor and television personality.

Josie de Guzmán – Tony-nominated musical theater actor and singer.

María Teresa "Tere" Marichal – Actor, writer, ventriloquist, playwright, and TV personality. Jacobo Morales – Pioneer of Puerto Rican cinematography and the first filmmaker from Puerto Rico to be nominated for an Academy Award.

Antonio Martorell – Accomplished painter, graphic artist and writer who recently received the National Medal of Arts from President Biden.

Ángel "Cucco" Peña – Multiple Grammy- and Emmy-Award winning composer, arranger, conductor, music director, trumpeter, and singer.

Silverio Pérez – Musician, comedian, motivational speaker, and TV personality. Ambassadors:

Nilda María Comas – Multiple award-winning Master Sculptor
Dr. Antonio Mignucci – Biological oceanographer and veterinary technician
Dr. Ariel Orama – Award-winning filmmaker, actor, and clinical psychologist
Ana Teresa Toro – Accomplished journalist and novelist
Trailblazers:

Omi Hopper – Chef, contestant on "Next Level Chef" and social media influencer Rebeca Nieves Huffman – Career coach and social media influencer Ivelissa Ríos – Chef, life coach and social media influencer Athlete of the Year:

Alelí Medina – ISA Para Surfing Gold Medalist (visually impaired category) Posthumous Honorees

Rafael Hernández Marín – Considered one of the greatest Puerto Rican composers.

Tito Puente – Grammy Award-winning percussionist, composer, and bandleader.

Tito Rodríguez – Legendary singer and bandleader.

Marisol Malarét – Puerto Rico's first Miss Universe winner, television host.

Antonia Pantoja – Educator, social worker, organizer, prolific author, and activist.